User Roles and Permissions
What is a Role?
User roles define what a MonkeyPod user is able to do. When you create an organization, you'll be assigned some reasonable defaults (Bookkeeper, Manager, Accountant, Admin), but roles are highly configurable, so you can design them to match how your organization works.
Each User Has a Role
Each user has exactly one role.
First click "Manage Users" in the navigation. This link will only be available if you are an Admin user.
Assigning a Role to a User
When creating a new user, you are required to assign a role. You can change a user's role by editing the user. These options are only available if you are an Admin.
Creating a New Role
To create a new role, click the "Roles" button to display a list of your existing roles. Then select a role to use as a template for the new role. You will be copying its permissions and other settings to get started (though you'll be able to edit these as usual later on). Click the "Copy" icon to begin the creation process.
Deleting a Role
A role may only be deleted if it has no associated users. If a role can be deleted, a delete icon will appear in the roles table. Click that button to confirm that you want to delete it permanently.
** Admins are Here to Stay
The one exception to these guidelines is the "Admin" role, which is hard-coded with permission to do just about anything and cannot be changed or deleted. In addition, each organization must have at least one Admin user, so if there is only one Admin you won't be able to change that user's role or delete the user's account.
Configuring Permissions for a Role
Click "Permissions" in the navigation to load the permissions configuration. Most actions in MonkeyPod are detailed in this list (but please let us know if something seems to be missing). Each role can be allowed or denied permission to perform the action in question.